Veritas NetBackup™ for Hyper-V Administrator's Guide
- Notes and prerequisites
- Configure NetBackup communication with Hyper-V
- Configure NetBackup policies for Hyper-V
- Backup options on the Hyper-V tab
- Hyper-V - Advanced Attributes
- Browse for Hyper-V virtual machines
- Configure Hyper-V Intelligent Policies
- NetBackup Hyper-V for SCVMM
- Windows Server failover cluster support
- Virtual machine maintenance after a restore
- Back up and restore Hyper-V
- Restoring individual files to a shared location on the virtual machine
- Use Accelerator to back up Hyper-V
- Best practices and more information
- NetBackup logs for Hyper-V and how to create them
- Errors during policy creation
- NetBackup status codes related to Hyper-V
- Appendix A. VSS backup method: Hyper-V online and offline backups
- Appendix B. Hyper-V pass-through disks
- Appendix C. NetBackup commands to back up and restore Hyper-V virtual machines
- Examples of nbrestorevm for restoring VMs to Hyper-V
About virtual machines on Windows 2008, 2012, and 2016 failover clusters
NetBackup support for failover clusters includes the following:
NetBackup can use a single policy to back up high availability (HA) and non-HA virtual machines in the cluster.
NetBackup can back up a virtual machine even if it migrates to a different node in the cluster.
NetBackup can restore the entire virtual machine to a cluster or to any Hyper-V host.
A NetBackup client must be installed on each node of the cluster.
When restoring a clustered virtual machine to its original location, note the following:
The restore destination depends on the following: The virtual machine's HA status at the time of its backup and at the time of restore (if it still exists).
Virtual machines are always restored to a state of non-high-availability. They can be manually reset for high availability.
If the existing virtual machine has a status of highly available at restore time, also note the following:
Its cluster resources are deleted during the restore.
Its cluster group is not deleted during restore. Removal of the cluster group must be done manually.