Veritas NetBackup™ Plug-in for VMware vSphere Web Client Guide
- Introduction and notes
- Installing the NetBackup plug-in for vSphere Web Client
- Configuration overview for the NetBackup Recovery and Instant Recovery Wizards
- Excluding virtual disks from the backup
- Monitoring backup status
- Restoring virtual machines
- NetBackup Recovery Wizard screens
- NetBackup Instant Recovery Wizard screens
- Appendix A. Instant recovery operations
- Appendix B. Installing the vSphere Web Client plug-in from a NetBackup media server and plug-in package host
Virtual Machine Options screen (NetBackup Recovery Wizard for vSphere Web Client)
Click the check boxes to select the recovery options for the virtual machine.
Table: Fields in the Virtual Machine Options screen
Restore BIOS UUID xxx instead of creating a new UUID
Retains the UUID of the original virtual machine (note that the UUID is a globally unique identifier). The virtual machine is restored with the same UUID that it had before the restore.
Note the following:
Restore Instance UUID xxx instead of creating a new UUID
Retains the Instance UUID of the original virtual machine (note that the Instance UUID is a vCenter specific unique identifier of a virtual machine). The virtual machine is restored with the same Instance UUID that it had when it was backed up.
If the restore of the virtual machine is to a standalone ESXi host, this option is disabled.
If a virtual machine with the same Instance UUID exists at the target restore location, a message appears that the UUID is used already. In this case, the original instance UUID is not restored and a new UUID is assigned for the virtual machine.
Overwrite existing virtual machine
If a virtual machine with the same display name exists at the destination, that virtual machine must be deleted before the restore begins. Otherwise, the restore fails. Select this option to have the virtual machine deleted.
Remove backing information for devices like DVD/CD-ROM drives, serial or parallel ports
If a virtual machine had an ISO file that was mounted on a CD when the virtual machine was backed up, note: The ISO file must be available on the target ESX server when you restore the virtual machine. If the ISO file is not available on the ESX server, the restore fails.
This option restores the virtual machine without restoring an ISO file that was mounted when the virtual machine was backed up.
Remove tag associations
When this option is selected, NetBackup does not restore tag associations when it restores the virtual machine. If this option is not selected, NetBackup attempts to restore all tag associations from the backup.
If NetBackup cannot restore one or more of the tag associations, the restore exits with a NetBackup status code 1.
Power on virtual machine after recovery
The recovered virtual machine is automatically turned on when the recovery is complete.
Retain original hardware version
This option restores the virtual machine with its original hardware version (such as 4). It retains the original version even if the target ESXi server by default uses a later hardware version (such as 7 or 8).
If this option is disabled, the restored virtual machine is converted to the default hardware version that the ESXi server uses.