Enterprise Vault™ Introduction and Planning
- About this guide
- Overview of Enterprise Vault
- How Enterprise Vault works
- About Enterprise Vault indexing
- About Enterprise Vault tasks
- About Enterprise Vault services
- About the Archive Discovery Search Service
- About the Enterprise Vault Outlook Add-In
- About Enterprise Vault Search
- Enterprise Vault administration
- About reporting and monitoring in Enterprise Vault
- Exchange Server archiving
- About Exchange Server archiving and user mailboxes
- Exchange Server and journal mailbox archiving
- Exchange Public Folder archiving
- File System Archiving
- Archiving Microsoft SharePoint servers
- Domino mailbox archiving
- Domino Journal archiving
- SMTP Archiving
- Skype for Business Archiving
- Enterprise Vault Accelerators
- About Compliance Accelerator
- The Compliance Accelerator client application
- About Discovery Accelerator
- Discovery Accelerator client application
- Building in resilience
- About Enterprise Vault and VCS
- About Enterprise Vault and Windows Server Failover Clustering
- About Enterprise Vault building blocks
- Planning component installation
- Where to set up the Enterprise Vault Services and Tasks
- Installation planning for client components
- Planning your archiving strategy
- How to define your archiving policy for user mailboxes
- How to plan the archiving strategy for Exchange public folders
- How to plan settings for retention categories
- How to plan vault stores and partitions
- About Enterprise Vault reports
SharePoint archiving policies
In a SharePoint policy you can configure the following archiving actions:
Leave the document in SharePoint. This means that the document will not be deleted from SharePoint once it is archived; users will be able to access all versions of the document both on the server and in the archive.
Delete document from SharePoint once archived, and leave a shortcut to the archived document.
Delete document from SharePoint once archived, without leaving a shortcut. This means that an archived document is deleted from SharePoint and is only available in the archive.
Prune to a specified number of versions of the document. If versioning is enabled for the document library, you can set the number of versions of an archived document that you want left in SharePoint after archiving. Earlier versions will be available in the archive only.
You can specify how to archive items with unique permissions and whether to archive drafts of items.
You create rules to select the documents that you want to archive with the policy.
You can make Enterprise Vault delete shortcuts automatically, according to the age of the shortcuts. For example, you can choose to delete those shortcuts that are more than one year old.