Veritas NetBackup™ Backup, Archive, and Restore Getting Started Guide

Last Published:
Product(s): NetBackup (8.2, 8.1.2, 8.1.1)

Backing up or archiving files and directories

A backup copies items to another drive or a storage device. The original files remain on the source drive.

An archive also copies items to another drive or a storage device. When the backup is finished and successful, the original files are deleted from the source drive.

You can back up or archive the following items:

UNIX and Linux

  • Files

  • Directories

  • Partitions

Windows

  • Files

  • Folders

  • Volumes

  • Registry keys

  • System State components

  • System Service components

  • EFI System partition (IA64 systems only)

  • Shadow Copy components

    Note:

    On IA64 systems, Shadow Copy backups include System State components and the EFI System partition automatically. If you back up System State components only, you must also select the EFI System partition for a successful backup.

Use the following procedure to perform a user-directed (manual) backup or archive operation.

For more information about how to use the Backup, Archive and Restore interface, see the online Help.

To back up or archive with Backup, Archive, and Restore

  1. Start the backup as follows, for the appropriate platform:

    UNIX and Linux

    Click the Backup Files tab.

    The space under the menu bar displays the following information about how NetBackup is currently set up for the operation:

    • NetBackup server

    • Source client

    • Destination client

    • Policy type

    The following is an example of the Backup Files tab:

    Windows

    To open a Backup window, click File > Select Files and Folders to Backup or click the Select for Backup icon.

    The window title bar displays the following information about how NetBackup is currently set up for the operation:

    • Server

    • Client

    The following is an example of the backup window:

  2. To select the items that you want to back up, in any pane, click the check box to the left of the item.

    A check mark next to individual items indicates that those items are selected. A check mark next to a directory (folder) indicates that all items in the directory are selected. A diagonal slash mark next to a directory indicates that only some items within it are selected.

  3. To set up how to back up the selected items, do the following:

    UNIX and Linux

    Click Backup.

    The following is an example of the Backup Files dialog box:

    Windows

    Click Actions > Backup.

    The following is an example of the Backup Files dialog box:

  4. In the Backup Files dialog box, select or specify any of the following options:

    NetBackup server

    To change the NetBackup server that performs the backup operation, select a different server from the drop-down list.

    Normally, you do not need to specify a different master server. If you have the option to send your backups to more than one master server, be sure that you specify the correct one.

    Remove from list (UNIX only)

    The Files Marked for Normal Backup list shows all of the items that you marked for backup. If you want to remove any item, click on the item and then click this option.

    Archive files (delete files after successful backup)

    To delete the items automatically from the source drive after they back up successfully, select this option.

    Keyword phrase to associate with this backup or archive (optional)

    To associate a keyword phrase to the backup, enter that information here. When you restore these files later, you can search by this keyword phrase for the backed up items.

  5. Click Start Backup.
  6. To view the backup progress, do the following

    Windows systems:

    In the View Status dialog box that appears, click Yes.

    UNIX systems:

    In the Task Progress tab that appears, click Yes.

    Note:

    The backup job progress logs are stored in the default log files. The path for the default log file of a job is displayed in the Results of the Task Selection Above pane in the Task Progress tab.

    The backup may take a few minutes to complete. After you start a backup operation, you can close Backup, Archive, and Restore and perform other tasks. NetBackup continues the operation in the background.