Veritas NetBackup™ Appliance Security Guide
- About the NetBackup appliance Security Guide
- User authentication
- About user authentication on the NetBackup appliance
- About configuring user authentication
- About user name and password specifications
- User authorization
- Intrusion prevention and intrusion detection systems
- Log files
- Operating system security
- Data security
- Web security
- Network security
- Call Home security
- About AutoSupport
- About Call Home
- About SNMP
- Remote Management Module (RMM) security
- STIG and FIPS conformance
- Appendix A. Security release content
Disable user access to the NetBackup appliance operating system
Depending on the security policies of your organization, you can choose to permanently disable user access to the NetBackup appliance operating system (VxOS). You can disable user access to the VxOS by configuring its security level to High. Note that the following restrictions are permanently enforced in the appliance:
Users cannot access the maintenance shell. The Support > Maintenance menu is not available in the shell menu.
Only Veritas support personnel can be granted access to the maintenance shell to troubleshoot issues and manage operating system-related tasks. See Manage support access to the maintenance shell.
Users cannot create and delete NetBackupCLI users. The Manage > NetBackupCLI menu is not available in the shell menu.
Users cannot grant or revoke the NetBackupCLI role. The Authorization > Grant NetBackupCLI menu is not available in the shell menu.
Users with the NetBackupCLI role cannot log in to the appliance.
To permanently disable user access to VxOS
- To view the current security level of the VxOS, use the following command:
Main_Menu > Settings > Security > SecurityLevel Show
The VxOS can operate in either of the following security levels:
Access to VxOS is granted as per standard Veritas security policies. This is the default security configuration.
Access to VxOS is permanently disabled for all users.
Access to VxOS is temporarily granted to Veritas support personnel through the maintenance shell. The security level is automatically reverted to High after the maintenance activity is completed.
- To permanently disable user access to VxOS, configure the security level to High. Use the following command:
Main_Menu > Settings > Security > SecurityLevel High
After switching to the High security level, you cannot revert to the default (Optimal) security level unless you perform a factory reset of the appliance.