After a "Clean" operation has been performed from the library / hardware side, outside of NetBackup, the NEEDS CLEANING comment will remain visible in the NetBackup Administration Console.
N/A: Drive(s) showing
When a tape library performs a cleaning operation, the cleaning comment is not removed as NetBackup is not aware that the operation has been completed.
The presence of the NEEDS CLEANING comment should not affect the functionality of the library, but the comment can be removed with the following procedure:
- Run either of the following commands to display the cleaning statistics:
The results will be similar to the ones shown below. An asterisk next to the drive type indicates that the device is defined as robotic:
If it is confirmed that a cleaning operating has taken place, remove the NEEDS CLEANING comment from NetBackup by running the following command to indicate that the drive was manually cleaned. The mount time will be reset to zero. In this example, IBM.ULTRIUM-TD3.001 is the drive name:
install_path\Veritas\Volmgr\bin\tpclean -M IBM.ULTRIUM-TD3.000
/bin/tpclean -M IBM.ULTRIUM-TD3.000
After running the last command, repeat the first step to confirm that the statistics have been updated.
Was this content helpful?
Rating submitted. Please provide additional feedback (optional):