Migrating users from one Storage Location to another Storage Location including Dedupe files

Migrating users from one Storage Location to another Storage Location including Dedupe files

Article: 100034145
Last Published: 2017-08-24
Ratings: 0 4
Product(s): Desktop Laptop Option

Problem

Migrating users backed up files and Dedupe files to another server or location.

Solution

Using the DLOCommandu.exe -MigrateUserSL the data and users can be moved to the new location.

Here is the explanation of the command from the Admin Guide:

-MigrateUserSL Command

This command migrates an existing DLO user's network user data folder (NUDF) from one storage location to another location. Users are moved to the new storage location along with their data. A storage location should be a CIFS-based network user data folder that can exist on a Windows server and on certified NAS devices that support CIFS.

The DLOCommandu.exe utility should be run from an Administrator CMD Prompt from within the DLO folder.

Create the new Storage location and Dedupe Storage Location from within the DLO Admin Console in the new location. Once this is done you can run the following command to get the Storage Location RecordID.

DLOCommandu.exe -ListSL

This command returns the ID of the Storage Location that you will want to move the users to.

C:\Program Files\Veritas\Veritas DLO> dlocommandu -listsl

Results will appear similar to this:

RecordID Computer Name Path
 
20            SERVER5            DLOStorage-SL_1 C:\DLOStorage\DLOStorage-SL_1
80            SERVER5            DLOStorage3-SL F:\DLOStorage3\DLOStorage3-SL


In the above example,  users are currently using the Storage location on the C: Drive  with the RecordID of 20 and need to be moved to the new storage location on the F: drive that has just been created. The new Storage Locations RecordID is 80.

The following command is run to move the users, their data and their Dedupe Data to the new Storage Location.

C:\Program Files\Veritas\Veritas DLO> dlocommandu -migrateusersl -NI 80 -A
Note:The -A switch is for all users. 

RecordID User Name                           Migration Result

48             Domain\Administrator       Migration Successful

IMPORTANT: Do not delete the data from the Dedupe Storage Location but run the GC tool to purge unreferenced data

78             DomainName\DLOUser1    Migration Successful

IMPORTANT: Do not delete the data from the Dedupe Storage Location but run the GC tool to purge unreferenced data

108           DomainName\User2.smith Migration Successful

IMPORTANT:
Do not delete the data from the Dedupe Storage Location but run the GC tool to purge unreferenced data
 

 

When the process is complete there will be data in both locations, run the  Dedupe Garbage Collection Tool to remove the  old Dedupe data.

Was this content helpful?