V-287-13175 - Temporarily disable Data Lifecycle Management in Backup Exec to prevent automatic deletion of expired backup sets

V-287-13175 - Temporarily disable Data Lifecycle Management in Backup Exec to prevent automatic deletion of expired backup sets

Article: 100012137
Last Published: 2018-04-20
Ratings: 1 0
Product(s): Backup Exec

Problem

V-287-13175 / V-269-45 - From Backup Exec 2012 onward, the retention of disk based backup sets is managed by Data Lifecycle Management (DLM). DLM will automatically delete expired backup sets that are on disk-based storage so that disk space is available for new backup sets. If expired backup sets are not deleted, your disk storage becomes full which causes jobs to fail. The deletion process is known as a reclaim.

The expiration of Backup Sets is controlled by a setting within the backup jobs that create the sets. Backup sets present on a server during an upgrade from an older version (2010 R3 or earlier) are subject to expiration timings based on their overwrite protection at the time of during the upgrade.

As there may be some circumstances where the automatic reclaim operation may need to be temporarily disabled this article provides a method to achieve this (against Backup Exec 2014 and later)

Error Message

Data Lifecycle Management (DLM) is DisabledYou have disabled Backup Exec data lifecycle management (DLM). When DLM is disabled, you cannot delete backup sets from Backup Exec.You must re-enable DLM so that Backup Exec can delete expired backup sets to provide disk space. Your backup jobs will fail if there is no disk space.

Solution

 If you want to review and change the overwrite protection periods before DLM deletes expired backup sets, you can temporarily disable DLM, make any changes to the data retention of backup sets, and then re-enable DLM. DLM runs automatically every hour or whenever Backup Exec detects a low disk space condition. If your disk storage is full when you upgrade, it is possible that DLM will delete expired backup sets before you have time to reset the registry key to disable DLM.

Warning: Incorrect use of the Windows registry editor may prevent the operating system from functioning properly. Great care should be taken when making changes to a Windows registry. Registry modifications should only be carried-out by persons experienced in the use of the registry editor application. It is recommended that a complete backup of the registry and workstation be made prior to making any registry changes.

 

To disable DLM, set the following registry key to 0:

HKey_Local_Machine\Software\Symantec\Backup Exec for Windows\Backup Exec\Server\CheckReclaimSpaceIntervalMinutes = 0

 Then, restart the Backup Exec services.

 

After you temporarily disable DLM, you can either retain the backup sets that you want to keep indefinitely, or you can change the expiration date for the backup sets.

To retain backup sets indefinitely:

1.       On the Backup and Restore tab or the Storage tab, double-click the server or the storage device that is related to the backup sets that you want to retain.

2.       In the left pane, click Backup Sets.

3.       Do one of the following:

·         To retain a single backup set, right-click the backup set.
·         To retain multiple backup sets, Shift + click or Ctrl + click the backup sets, and the right-click one of the selected backup sets.

4.       Click Retain.

5.       In the Reason to retain backup sets field, select the reason that you want to retain the backup sets.

6.       In the Explanation field, type any additional information.

7.       Click OK.

To change the expiration date for the backup sets:

1.       On the Backup and Restoretab or the Storagetab, double-click the server or the storage device that is related to the backup sets.

2.       In the left pane, click Backup Sets.

3.       Do one of the following:

·         To change the expiration date for a single backup set, right-click the backup set.
·         To change the expiration date for multiple backup sets, Shift + click or Ctrl + click the backup sets, and then right-click one of the selected backup sets.

4.       Click Expiration.

5.       Enter the new expiration date in the Expiration field.

6.       Click OK.

 

You must re enable DLM so that Backup Exec can delete expired backup sets and provide disk space. Your backup jobs will fail if there is no disk space. As long as DLM is disabled, you cannot delete backup sets from Backup Exec.
To re enable DLM, set the registry key to 60 (decimal):
HKey_Local_Machine\Software\Symantec\Backup Exec for Windows\Backup Exec\Server\CheckReclaimSpaceIntervalMinutes = 60
 Then, restart the Backup Exec services.

For more information on DLM, review the topic How data lifecycle management (DLM) deletes expired backup sets on disk-based storage in the Backup Exec 2014 Administrator's Guide.

 

Note: If DLM is disabled a Backup Exec Informational Alert is generated once every 24 hours.

 

 

 

 

 

References

UMI : V-269-45 UMI : V-287-13175

Was this content helpful?