What is the purpose of the "Truncate Catalogs After 'x' days" option in Backup Exec?

Problem

What is the purpose of the "Truncate Catalogs After 'x' days" option in Backup Exec?

Solution

This Option is utilized in Symantec Backup Exec to remove unused catalogs from the hard disk after a Particular amount of time

1.  Click Tools | Options and click the Catalog tab (Figure 1)

Figure 1

 


NOTE:

Default Option is set to 60 days after the "truncate catalogs after" option is checked , however after the catalogs have been truncated, the files and directories cannot be restored without re-cataloging the media.
 
This change is not retroactive. Only catalogs created or accessed after the change is made will be truncated. Backup Exec will not use this rule to manage unaccessed catalogs that are already present at the time the changes are made.

 

 


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices.

Search

Survey

Did this article answer your question or resolve your issue?

No
Yes

Did this article save you the trouble of contacting technical support?

No
Yes

How can we make this article more helpful?

Email Address (Optional)