ProblemDescription of Backup Exec Service Account, System Logon account and other accounts
This article details the description of BE Service Account, System Logon Account and other accounts to avoid confusion.
BE service account:
All Backup Exec services on the media server run in the context of a user Account configured for the Backup Exec system services. You can create this account during the Backup Exec installation, or you can use an existing user account.
II>How to change/modify:
Service account can be changed through BE utility and Tools>BE services
System Logon Account:
The Backup Exec System Logon Account (SLA) is created when you install Backup Exec. When the SLA is created, the username and password match the credentials provided during install for the Backup Exec Services credentials. The owner of the SLA is the user that installed Backup Exec and is a common account by default.
Common accounts are shared accounts that can be accessed by all users.
The Backup Exec System Logon Account may have access to most or all of your resources since it contains the Backup Exec Services credentials. If you want to make Backup Exec more secure, you can change the SLA to be a restricted account. You can also delete it after making another logon account the default. However, if you delete the SLA, the jobs in which it is used may fail. If the SLA is deleted, you can re-create it using the Logon Account Management dialog box.
II>How to change/Modify:
System Logon account can be changed on the Network/Logon Account.
A Backup Exec logon account stores the credentials of a user account that you use to access a resource, such as a Windows computer. Backup Exec logon accounts enable Backup Exec to manage user names and passwords and can be used to browse resources or process jobs. Using Backup Exec logon accounts enables you to apply credential changes to the jobs that use them.
Backup Exec logon accounts are used to browse local and remote resources. Backup Exec logon accounts can also be associated with selection list entries at the device level such as shares, databases.
II> How to change/Modify:
Logon account can be changed on the Network/Logon Account.
1. When users create a backup job or browse resource, by default, BE will use system logon account.
2. Users can test the credential in the Job properties/Resource credentials.