User Delete requests when in Backup mode deletes the shortcut without warning


When Enterprise Vault (EV) is in Backup mode, and a deletion request is performed by the EV Outlook Client (Due to deleting an EV Shortcut object), the delete request will remove the Shortcut however will fail to delete the item in the archive. This leaves the item in the archive and can prevent the item from being deleted, updated or moved unless through Virtual Vault (VV).

Error Message

Internet Information Servicesa (IIS) Error:

GET /EnterpriseVault/deleteo2k.asp
18~201211272213530000~Z~E093FFA5A44DC3E6042CCA736E607341 80 EXAMPLE\Username <Remote IP Address> EnterpriseVaultOutlookExt-V9.0.1.1073 500 0 0


When a user deletion request occurs, this process sends a deleteo2k.asp request immediately to the EV server. While EV is in Backup Mode, deleteo2k.asp requests will return a 500 error due to the request failing to be inserted to the Vault Store database to be processed. This delete request will not be processed after EV is out of Backup Mode.


Enable user for EV Vault Cache and Virtual Vault to allow users to administor associated archives. (See Related Articles for Virtual Vault Overview and Best Practices)

Note: Browser Search and Archive Explorer web applications may be leveraged to delete items in the archive which do not have associated shortcuts within the mailbox.


This issue has been addressed as part of the following release:

Enterprise Vault 10.0.4 - Release Details

Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices.



Did this article answer your question or resolve your issue?


Did this article save you the trouble of contacting technical support?


How can we make this article more helpful?

Email Address (Optional)