After uninstalling and reinstalling the Managed Media Server (MMS) option, disk targets, like Backup-to-Disk folders and Deduplication Storage Folders, may lose the Storage Path that was configured before the uninstall.
SQL records for the Managed Media Server are not removed from the Central Admin Server if a maintenance install is used to uninstall the MMS option from a managed server.
Before uninstalling the MMS option, delete it first from the CAS Media Servers tab. Then uninstall the MMS option.
There after the disk targets need to be deleted and recreated after the reinstall of the MMS option.
Symantec Corporation has acknowledged that the above-mentioned issue is present in the current version(s) of the product(s) mentioned at the end of this article. Symantec Corporation is committed to product quality and satisfied customers.
This issue is currently under investigation by Symantec Corporation. Pending the outcome of the investigation, this issue may be resolved by way of a patch or hotfix in current or future revisions of the software. However, this particular issue is not currently scheduled for any release. If you feel this issue has a direct business impact for you and your continued use of the product, please contact your Symantec Sales representative or the Symantec Sales group to discuss these concerns. For information on how to contact Symantec Sales, please see http://www.symantec.com Please be sure to refer back to this document periodically as any changes to the status of the issue will be reflected here.