When performing restore of Content-DB(s) under Web Application, the settings of Web Application are restored with default

Problem

When performing restore of Content-DB(s) under Web Application, the settings of Web Application are restored with default.

This issue is currently reported for the following settings, but not limited to.

  1. Setting of Extend Web Application to Another IIS Web Site
  2. Authentication method
  3. Retention period of Recycle Bin

 

 

Figure 1 is an instance of extending Web Application. This is adding a new IIS web site SharePoint - 81 (port 81) to a Web Application which already has an IIS site SharePoint - 80.

 

Figure 1.

fig1

 

After the Extend Web Application is completed, two sites can be confirmed in both Authentication Providers and Alternate Access Mapping. (Figure 2, 3)

 

 Figure 2.

fig2

 

Figure 3.

fig3

 

If a restore job of the content-db under SharePoint - 80 is completed, only one site is listed in both Authentication Providers and Alternate Access Mapping. (Figure 4, 5)

 

 Figure 4.

fig4

 

Figure 5.

 

 

Solution

This has been fixed in Backup Exec 2012.

 

Workaround

To work around this issue, perform one of the following:

a) Perform the setting again

b) Perform the Disaster Recovery procedure from beginning

When performing Disaster Recovery, get a full backup as soon as possible after the DR is completed.

 



Applies To

Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 and 2010

Backup Exec 2010

 

Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices.

Search

Survey

Did this article answer your question or resolve your issue?

No
Yes

Did this article save you the trouble of contacting technical support?

No
Yes

How can we make this article more helpful?

Email Address (Optional)