DOCUMENTATION and DOWNLOAD: How to use Symantec's NetBackup Media Server Decommissioning Tool for NetBackup 6.5.5.
The nbdecommission command line tool is shipped with NetBackup 6.5.6 to guide the user through the steps involved in decommissioning a media server. The utility attached to this document allows this functionality in NetBackup version 6.5.5.
Decommissioning a media server means removing all the references of a server from the NetBackup domain so that there is no visible or measurable impact on the remaining functional environment.
nbdecommission can also be helpful in situations where a media server has been incorrectly decommissioned and there are still references to the old server.
nbdecommission -oldserver <hostname>
Specifies the name of the media server to be decommissioned.
Lists all the references to the media server to be decommissioned.
Specifies the name of the media server where tape media should be moved before decommissioning the old media server. It is also used as the default new media server (which can be overridden by the user) for moving disk pools.
Specifies the name of the operation dump file. All the operations performed to decommission a media server are logged in this file.
Specifies the master server name.
Specifies verbose output.
In this example, the media server with the hostname clapton is being decommissioned.
1. Execute the nbdecommission -list_ref command to generate the list of references to clapton:
It is important to note that there are several things the nbdecommission command does not do:
- It does not process the media server deduplication pools.
- It does not update the vm.conf file on NetBackup servers in your environment. Therefore, the old server may remain in the vm.conf file on NetBackup servers until it is manually edited out.
- It does not update the configuration files on clients. Therefore, the old server may remain in the server lists on the clients. If you replace an old server with a new server, the new server is not added to the client server lists.
- It does not decommission clustered media servers.
- It does not handle Vault profiles. If there are Vault profiles that refer to devices on the old server, they must be updated manually before running the tool.
- When run, nbdecommission moves the old server to an Administrative Pause state so that no new jobs are started. However, NetBackup still can start backup and restore jobs for BasicDisk, as those jobs obtain resources differently than do jobs for other storage destinations. And nbdecommission may itself clear the administrative pause as needed to allow the image expiration to work. Some jobs can start running during this period.