How to catalog media in the SAN Shared Storage Option

Description

How to catalog media in the SAN Shared Storage Option

The SAN Shared Storage Option uses a shared catalog database. A tape that has already been cataloged can be physically moved from one device to another and will not have to be recataloged.

If the server is not available over the network when a secondary server generates catalog information, the information is stored temporarily on the secondary server until automatic catalog synchronization occurs.

Because catalogs are shared, information can be restored using any server that has access to a device where the tape resides. If the tape resided in a shared device, or in a local device on the server where you want to perform the restore, simply start a restore job. Otherwise, you have to move the tape into a drive that is accessible.

See Creating a new catalog

Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices.

Search

Survey

Did this article answer your question or resolve your issue?

No
Yes

Did this article save you the trouble of contacting technical support?

No
Yes

How can we make this article more helpful?

Email Address (Optional)