Microsoft Hyper-V default options

Description

Microsoft Hyper-V default options

You can use the default options that Backup Exec sets during installation for all Microsoft Hyper-V backup and restore jobs. Or, you can choose your own default settings.

See Setting default backup and restore options for the Agent for Microsoft Hyper-V.

Table: Microsoft Hyper-V default options

Item

Description

Exclude virtual machines that are in a saved state at backup time

Excludes from the backup all offline virtual machines that do not support online backups and that are in a running state when the backup begins.

Back up virtual machines that are powered off

Enables Backup Exec to back up virtual machines that are turned off.

Use Backup Exec Granular Recovery Technology (GRT) to enable the restore of individual files and folders from virtual machines

Enables individual files and folders to be restored from the full backup.

You must install the Remote Agent for Windows Systems on the virtual machine on which you want to restore the data. The Remote Agent for Windows Systems does not have to be installed on the virtual machine to back up the data.

Edit

Lets you change the GRT settings for Microsoft Active Directory, Exchange, and SQL.

Microsoft Active Directory

Indicates whether GRT is enabled or disabled for Microsoft Active Directory on the virtual machine. It is enabled by default.

Microsoft Exchange

Indicates whether GRT is enabled or disabled for Microsoft Exchange on the virtual machine. It is enabled by default.

Microsoft SQL

Indicates whether GRT is enabled or disabled for Microsoft SQL on the virtual machine. It is enabled by default.

Overwrite powered on virtual machines

Restores virtual machines that are turned on.

By default, the virtual machine is turned off before the restore job processes and the virtual machine is overwritten. To prevent virtual machines that are turned on from being overwritten, uncheck this option. If this option is unchecked and a virtual machine is running, the job fails. You must manually turn off the virtual machine before you attempt to run the restore job again.

Do not turn on the virtual machine

Leaves the virtual machine turned off after the restore job completes.

Turn on the virtual machine and resume from the available saved state

Turns on the virtual machine automatically after the restore job completes. The virtual machine resumes operations from the saved state from the time of the backup.

Note:

This option applies only to virtual machines that are backed up using a saved state. Virtual machines that are backed up online do not have a saved state.

Turn on the virtual machine and discard available saved state

Turns on the virtual machine automatically after the restore job completes. The virtual machine discards the available saved state.

Note:

This option applies only to virtual machines that are backed up using a saved state. Virtual machines that are backed up online do not have a saved state.

Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices.

Search

Survey

Did this article answer your question or resolve your issue?

No
Yes

Did this article save you the trouble of contacting technical support?

No
Yes

How can we make this article more helpful?

Email Address (Optional)