Selected jobs in the activity monitor are reset to zero (0) at midnight.

Selected jobs in the activity monitor are reset to zero (0) at midnight.

Article: 100045912
Last Published: 2019-07-11
Ratings: 1 0
Product(s): NetBackup

Problem:

Selected jobs in the activity monitor are reset to zero (0) at midnight.

Error Message:

There is no error message only the indication.

In Figure 1, the administrator has selected 38 jobs. Only a few of the selected jobs are visible.

 

In Figure 2, the number of selected items drops to zero (0) just after midnight on the master server.

The problem of selected items going to zero occurs when the master server passes through midnight and is not related to the local time or time zone of the remote administration console.

The problem is also noted whether the console is launched from a Windows server/client or if the console display is exported from the master server.

Cause:

The activity monitor by default displays jobs for just over three days (78 hours). At midnight the bpjobd process deletes old jobs from the activity monitor. However, when jobs are deleted the selected items are reset. This is a defect in NetBackup 8.1 and noted in ET3979486.

The problem at this time appears limited to Solaris (SPARC) Master Servers.

Solution:

Work Around:

Set the activity monitor to display more than three days (78 hours) but manually delete jobs before the count is met.

Concept: Setting the activity monitor to display more than three days will only correct the problem until the count is met and jobs are again automatically deleted.

By setting the activity monitor to display 30 days but manually deleting jobs after 14 days, the bpjobd process will never find jobs, older than 30 days, to automatically delete and selected items will remain.

Comment: The values used are for example. Adjust per environment.

On UNIX:

Change the entries in the /usr/openv/netbackup/bp.conf file.

For example, add the following entry to the bp.conf file:

KEEP_JOBS_HOURS = 720
Where 720 is the number of hours that unsuccessful jobs are kept in the jobs database or Activity Monitor display.

For example, to change the retention of successful jobs, add the following entry:

KEEP_JOBS_SUCCESSFUL_HOURS = 720
Where 720 is the number of hours that successful jobs are kept in the jobs database or Activity Monitor display.

 

To manually clean jobs and only display 14 days of jobs execute the following command:

/usr/openv/netbackup/bin/admincmd/bpdbjobs -clean -keep_days 14
 

Changing the default bpdbjobs_options values

This issue is currently being considered by Veritas Technologies LLC to be addressed in the next major revision of the product.  There are no plans to address this issue by way of a patch or hotfix in the current or previous versions of the software at the present time.  Please note that Veritas Technologies LLC reserves the right to remove any fix from the targeted release if it does not pass quality assurance tests or introduces new risks to overall code stability.  Veritas’ plans are subject to change and any action taken by you based on the above information or your reliance upon the above information is made at your own risk.

References

Etrack : 3979486

Was this content helpful?