Moving files between folders on the same drive during an archive of that drive may result in a backup not containing all archived files.

  • Article ID:100000488
  • Modified Date:
  • Product(s):

Severity

Data Loss

Description

During an archive, if files are moved from one directory on a drive to another while the backup is running - for example, moved from C:\folder1 to C:\example2 - the moved files may not have been backed up, yet would still be deleted upon completion of the archive.

This can happen when moving a file within the same drive because its creation- or modification-time will not be changed.

This issue affects all currently supported versions of NetBackup.

This issue affects Windows clients ONLY.

Action Required

If performing archives of Windows clients where this type of behavior may occur, please contact Veritas technical support, referencing this document and Etrack 3916118 to determine Emergency Engineering Binary (EEB) availability.

Resolution:
Veritas Technologies LLC has acknowledged that the above-mentioned issue (Etrack 3916120) is present in the current versions listed under the Products section of this article. 

This issue is currently scheduled to be addressed in the next release of NetBackup. 

Workaround:
Do not move files during archives of the drive on which they reside.

Was this content helpful?

Get Support