I don’t want users to have access to an item that has been marked for deletion.
Submitting on behalf of a customer: Orrick, see case reference: 03607385
I deleted email with attachments and then restored them…. I still have access to the attachments after restoring the shortcuts. On the Deleted Items tab of the properties for my vault the number of deleted items ticked up, and does not tick down after I restore the shortcut. Also, the shortcut goes directly to the dumpster. The offered solution he had of turning on “Delete Orphaned Shortcuts” is not a good idea because many times an email is sent to more than one person. We put the body of the message in the stub, so all the user is missing are the attachments. Most of the time the user can contact others in the email and get the attachment.
The Customer wants this enhancement: I don’t want users to have access to an item that has been marked for deletion.
Soe detaileds around the behavior he would lie to see changed below.
If users are able to copy shortcuts, therefore making multiple copies of shortcuts. When an item is deleted only the original shortcut is deleted, the copies will remain, as Enterprise Vault has no idea these were copied. The only way to ensure these are deleted when the original item is deleted would be to ensure the “Delete Orphan Shortcut” operation is turned on.
When this operation is active, the Archive task will scan through the mailboxes looking for new items to archive, then a second scan will process the items found in the first scan of the archive task. This creates an xml list of eligible files. On this scan the list of Orphaned shortcuts is also populated. Orphan shortcut refer to a shortcut that no longer has an archived item associated with it. This process will then check to see if the shortcut has an associated item in an existing archive, if not then towards the end of the archive run, where shortcut processing takes place, these orphan shortcuts would then be removed when the archive task runs. This change is to be made to your existing Exchange Mailbox policy, then you would need to manually run the provisioning task to apply the changes immediately.